Annual Conference

2014 WiN Global Annual Conference



The 22nd WiN Global Annual Conference

The 22nd WiN Global Annual Conference was held from 20 to 25 October 2014 at Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney, Australia, organised by WiN Australia.

The conference comprised the WiN General Assembly, WiN Award Presentation, Chapter Report, Plenary Key Note Speech, Presentation session for invited speakers, Concurrent Technical Session and Poster Session for the following technical tracks.

Session 1 Presentations - Broader Considerations of Nuclear Technologies
Dr Lu Ma - State Nuclear Power Technology Corporation (China)
Dr Jodie Evans – Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (Australia)
Dr Jenny Nielsen – University of Queensland (Australia)

Session 2 Presentations - New developments in Nuclear & Radiation
David Vittorio - Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (Australia)
Sarah Ballantyne – ANSTO Nuclear Medicine (Australia)
Dr Elizabeth Bailey – Royal North Shore Hospital (Australia)
Panel Discussion

Session 3 Presentations - Engaging with the Public, Government & Media on Nuclear
Nadia Levin – Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (Australia)
Dr Irene Aegerter – Cogito Foundation (Switzerland)
Ben Heard – Think Climate (Australia)
Panel Discussion

Concurrent Technical Session I
Edemanwayn Bassey Ita - The role of the Nigerian Research Reactor in Human Capacity Development (Nigeria)
Zarina Masood - Enhancing Human Resource Development for Nuclear Power Programme in Malaysia through PUSPATI TRIGA Reactor (Malaysia)
Hyo Jeong Kim - Dismantling the public distrust on nuclear power via social network games (Korea)
Prof John Fletcher - Developing a Nuclear Engineering Program at UNSW (Australia)

Concurrent Technical Session II
Dr Anna Paradowska - Could neutron research provide solutions for modern industrial challenges?
Dr Anwen Krause-Heuer - Chemical Deuteration at the National Deuteration Facility
Mst Sanjida Aktar - A high performance neutron powder diffraction facility at TRIGA mark-II research reactor in Bangladesh (Bangladesh)
Emmy Hoffmann - ANSTO's Environmental Monitoring Program (Australia)

Concurrent Technical Session III
Heeran Jeong - Decommissioning strategy of KHNP and current preparation (Korea)
Dr Ana Cintas - Flux screen design for NTD in the RA-10 project
Duaa Aljilani - Advanced Design Features and Passive Reactor Core Cooling Systems in NPP
Ralitza Penkova - Service and Maintenance of a Primary Side On-line Chemistry Monitoring System of KNPP and cooperation between KNPP and Energoservice Personnel
Tao Tang - Effect analysis to Technical Specification of improvement of MCR system in nuclear plant (China)

Concurrent Technical Session IV
Kaitlyn Toole - Nuclear forensic science at the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology organisation (ANSTO, Australia)
Alison Flynn - Radiation Detection for Border Security Applications
Dr Therese Donlevy - HEU Minimisation in Australia (Australia)
Dr Jinsil Seong - Technical advance in radiation therapy of cancer - an example of liver cancer (Korea)
Prof Richard Banati - The use of nuclear science and technology in advanced brain imaging

Technical tours: ANSTO Site Visit, Australian Wild Life Zoo Visit, Ranger Uranium Mine Visit

For more information, please visit the website: or see attached herewith.